Supervisor Meeting – 19.10.17

This meeting was somewhat brief because of my unexpected mystery illness, but otherwise very productive.

I gave Todd a copy of my report, and it was good to get some feedback; some things I already suspected were confirmed (no personal pronouns, listing steps in processes), but more important was what I didn’t know.

Todd Advice

Project Plan

  • Extend the bullet points and describe them in brief sentences

Software Development

  • Code snippets
    • Provide code snippets to guide the reader through the process more viscerally
    • Code snippets can also perhaps provide a visual break in the report, making it easer to read
    • Both narrative flow and visual
  • Installation
    • Provide those snippets

Whole Report Structure

  • Try not to use bullet points as the main technique (which I definitely do for blog posts!)
  • Have more words 😛
  • Can potentially use personal pronouns for evaluation, but I’ll stick to the client/developer paradigm I’ve been using thus far.
  • Get rid of those numbering section headers – they’re completely out of whack
  • Create larger breaks in between important paragraph sections to provide clearer report flow (maybe even use page breaks at the end of major sections?)

Leave a comment